Antigone by Sophocles

12/02/2014 00:18

ANTIGONE:

But I will bury him; and if I must die,

I say that this crime is holy: I shall lie down

With him in death, and I shall be as dear

To him as he to me.

It is the dead

Not the living, who make the longest demands:

We die for ever…

.....

CREON:

And yet you dared defy the law.

ANTIGONE:

I dared.

It was not God’s proclamation. That final Justice

That rules the world below makes no such laws.

Your edict, King, was strong,

But all your strength is weakness itself against 

The immortal unrecorded laws of God.

They are not merely now: they were, and shall be,

Operative forever, beyond man utterly.

.....

ANTIGONE:

It is my nature to join in love, not hate.

Tomorrow is tomorrow.
Future cares have future cures,
And we must mind today.”

 

HAIMON:

You must believe me: Nothing is closer to me than your happiness.

What could be closer? Must not any son

Value his father’s fortune as his father does his?

I beg you, do not be unchangeable:

Do not believe that you alone can be right.

The man who thinks that,

The man who maintains that only he has the power

To reason correctly, the gift to speak, to soul––

A man like that, when you know him, turns out empty.

 

It is not reason never to yield to reason!

In flood time you can see how some trees bend,

And because they bend, even their twigs are safe,

While stubborn trees are torn up, roots and all.

And the same thing happens in sailing:

Make your sheet fast, never slacken,––and over you go,

Head over heels and under: and there’s your voyage.

Forget you are angry! Let yourself be moved!

I know I am young; but please let me say this:

The ideal condition

Would be, I admit, that men should be right by instinct;

But since we are all too likely to go astray,

The reasonable thing is to learn from those who can teach.

                                                 (written around 411 BC)

 

Comments