I Like That You Are Not Obsessed With Me by Marina Tsvetaeva

08/06/2014 02:16

I like that you are not obsessed with me, 
I like that I have no obsession either, 
And not for once in the eternity 
The heavy earth beneath our feet will wither 
I like I can be funny and be free, 
Be careless with words and never bother 
To be betrayed by tide of blush when we 
Brush with our sleeves when passing one another. 

I also like that in my company 
You’re confident enough to hug the other, 
You don’t foretell infernal suffering 
To me for being kissed by other lovers. 
I also like you never call in vain 
The sweet  inflection of my name, my sweetie 
And that we’ll never live to see the day 
When wedding bells hail us with nuptial greetings. 

I thank you from the bottom of my heart 
For loving me so much quite unaware: 

For the sweet peace, I own in the night,

For the scarce meeting in the eve’s fast flow,

For our not-walking under the moonlight,

For our not-standing under the sun’s glow –

That not with me – alas – you lose your mind,

That not with you – alas – I lose my own.

 

Comments