In Memoriam A. H. H. by Alfred Lord Tennyson

20/03/2014 02:04
5. Sometimes I Hold It Half A Sin
 

I sometimes hold it half a sin
To put in words the grief I feel;
For words, like Nature, half reveal
And half conceal the Soul within.
But, for the unquiet heart and brain,
A use in measured language lies;
The sad mechanic exercise,
Like dull narcotics, numbing pain.
In words, like weeds, I'll wrap me o'er,
Like coarsest clothes against the cold;
But that large grief which these enfold
Is given in outline and no more. 

16. I Envy Not In Any Moods
 

I envy not in any moods 
The captive void of noble rage,
The linnet born within the cage,
That never knew the summer woods:
I envy not the beast that takes
His license in the field of time,
Unfetter'd by the sense of crime,
To whom a conscience never wakes;
Nor, what may count itself as blest,
The heart that never plighted troth
But stagnates in the weeds of sloth;
Nor any want-begotten rest.

I hold it true, whate'er befall;
I feel it, when I sorrow most;
'Tis better to have loved and lost
Than never to have loved at all. 

54. Oh, Yet We Trust That Somehow Good

 

Oh, yet we trust that somehow good
Will be the final end of ill,
To pangs of nature, sins of will,
Defects of doubt, and taints of blood;
That nothing walks with aimless feet;
That not one life shall be destroy'd,
Or cast as rubbish to the void,
When God hath made the pile complete;
That not a worm is cloven in vain;
That not a moth with vain desire
I shrivell'd in a fruitless fire,
Or but subserves another's gain.

Behold, we know not anything;
I can but trust that good shall fall
At last--far off--at last, to all,
And every winter change to spring.

So runs my dream: but what am I?
An infant crying in the night:
An infant crying for the light:
And with no language but a cry. 

Comments

Why I should feel this way?
Why I should feel this way?
Why I should feel the same?

Is something I cannot say
Is something I cannot say
Is something I can't explain

I feel you
Outside at the edge of my life
I see you
Walk by at the edge of my sight

Why I should follow my heart?
Why I should follow my heart?
Why I should fall apart?

Why I should follow my dreams?
Why I should follow my dreams?
Why I should be at peace?

I feel you
Outside at the edge of my life
I see you
Walk by at the edge of my sight

I had to let you go
To the setting sun
I had to let you go
And find a way back home

When I dream all I see is you
When I dream all I see is..

I never seen a light that's so bright

I never seen a light that's so bright

I never seen a light that's so bright

Blinded by the light that's inside
Blinded by the light that's inside
Blinded by the light that's inside you